DENOMINATIONAL GROUP MEETINGS

Anabaptist/Mennonite

Jennifer Ulrich, Eastern Mennonite University, Secretary

MEMBERS PRESENT

- Karl Stutzman, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
- John Shaffett, Shorter University
- Timothy Erdel, Missionary Church Historical Society
- Jennifer Ulrich, Eastern Mennonite University

A small group met on June 22, 2021, via Zoom: Karl Stutzman, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary; John Shaffett, Shorter University; Timothy Erdel, Missionary Church Historical Society, and Jennifer Ulrich, Eastern Mennonite University.

We chatted about how each institution handled the school year and COVID-19 related issues. Classes took place online, some face to face, and some hybrid methods as well. Some of our libraries were busy (even being used as a café) and others were quieter. People are starting to come back into the buildings, and it has been good to see people again.

Tim told us about a collection of materials and artifacts they took over. It is a collection that includes written materials and artifacts from the various iterations of a school that was at different times called The Bethany Bible Institute, The Bible School of the Missionary Church Association, The Missionary Church Association Bible Training School, The M.C.A. Bible Institute, The Bible Training School, Fort Wayne Bible Training School, Fort Wayne Bible Institute, Fort Wayne Bible College, Summit Christian College, and Taylor University Fort Wayne. It was best known as Fort Wayne Bible College. It began in Bluffton, Ohio (before Bluffton College) on November 1, 1895, and closed in May 2009 in Fort Wayne. Taylor University Upland did take most of the materials from the Taylor University Fort Wayne time period (1992-2009), but not all.

Karl shared about an Indiana State Library LSTA grant to the Private Academic Library Network of Indiana (PALNI), which is for digitizing last copies of books in PALNI libraries. AMBS will be taking advantage of this grant.



2020–21 GROUP: [pictured, left to right] Jennifer Ulrich, John Shaffett, Karl Stutzman, Timothy Erdel