Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Jennifer Ulrich, Eastern Mennonite University, Chair

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- · Jennifer Ulrich, Eastern Mennonite University
- Elli Cucksey, Trinity Lutheran Seminary at Capital University
- Karla Grafton, Hartford International University for Religion and Peace
- Stephen Sweeney, St. John Vianney Seminary
- Suzanne Taylor, Mount St. Mary's University

YEAR IN REVIEW

The DEI committee met monthly via Zoom. We enjoyed an in-person meeting in Tucson, AZ in the fall where we discussed the scholarship, programming at the annual conference, and transitions for this next year.

One blog post was published in Oct. 2023 by Elli Cucksey, entitled "I Was Wrong: A Personal Reflection." The committee hopes to post more consistently in the next year.

Scholarship work takes up much of the time for this committee. This year the committee presented a proposal to increase the amount of the scholarship. We presented our recommendation to Membership and Engagement in June.

The 2024 Scholarship recipient is Colton Douglas Whelpton, an MLIS student at the University of Alberta.

Elli Cucksey and Suzanne Taylor presented at Atla Annual 2024 in Long Beach, CA. Their presentation was entitled "The Pronoun Puzzle: A Beginner's Guide to Creating a Trans-Friendly Library."

Several of the committee members enrolled in the "Critical Information Literacy" class through the Library Juice Academy in July 2024. They hope to bring the information learned to their work in the committee.